Pina Bausch /
Germaine Acogny & Malou Airaudo

The Rite of Spring /
common ground[s]

Teatro Nuovo Gian Carlo Menotti

Friday 24 June H 21:30

Saturday 25 June H 20:30

Sunday 26 June H 16:00

Monday 27 June H 20:30


Friday 24 to Sunday 26 June
Stalls, stalls boxes and 1st order boxes €60
Second and third tier boxes €48
Gallery €15

Monday 27 June
Stalls, boxes and 1st tier boxes €45
Second and third tier boxes €36
Gallery €15


The Rite of Spring


Pina Bausch


Igor Stravinskij

Original Set and Costume Design

Rolf Borzik


Hans Pop

World Premiere: 3 December 1975, Opera House Wuppertal


artistic directors

Jo Ann Endicott Jorge Puerta Armenta, Clémentine Deluy

Rehearsal Directors

Kenji Takagi & Çagdas Ermis, Ditta Miranda Jasjfi, Barbara Kaufmann, Julie Shanahan


Rodolphe Allui, Sahadatou Ami Touré, Anique Ayiboe D’Aquin Evrard Élisée Bekoin, Gloria Ugwarelojo Biachi, Khadija Cisse, Sonia Zandile Constable, Rokhaya Coulibaly Inas Dasylva, Astou Diop, Serge Arthur Dodo, Estelle Foli Aoufice Junior Gouri, Luciény Kaabral, Zadi Landry Kipre, Bazoumana Kouyaté Profit Lucky, Vuyo Mahashe, Babacar Mané, Vasco Pedro Mirine Stéphanie Mwamba, Florent Nikiéma, Shelly Ohene-Nyako, Brian Otieno Oloo Oliva Randrianasolo (Nanie), Asanda Ruda, Amy Collé Seck, Pacôme Landry Seka Gueassa Eva Sibi, Carmelita Siwa, Amadou Lamine Sow, Aziz Zoundi

with thanks to

Korotimi Barro, Franne Christie Dossou Harivola Rakotondrasoa, Tom Jules Sammie, Armel Gnago Sosso-Ny, Didja Kady Tiemanta

common ground[s]

Co-Choreographers and Dancers

Germaine Acogny, Malou Airaudo


Fabrice Bouillon LaForest

costume designer

Petra Leidner

lighting designer

Zeynep Kepekli


Sophiatou Kossoko


Adam Davis, Carlota Margarida Ramos


Ana Catarina Pimentel Rodrigues, Mariana Silva Taipa


Wei-Chueh Chen, Alejandro Vega Sierra


Nicolas Lopez, Ana Maria Sandu, Alexandru-Adrian Semeniuc


Fabrice Bouillon LaForest


Prof. Werner Dickel

sound engineer

Christophe Sapp

live mix

Tristan Assant, Fabrice Bouillon LaForest

The idea of “exchange” is central in this two-part programme which marks the first collaboration between the Pina Bausch Foundation (Germany), École des Sables (Senegal) and Sadler’s Wells (UK).

Bausch’s (1975) The Rite of Spring  is danced by a newly assembled company of dancers from African countries. In this pioneering work, with music by Stravinsky, a ‘chosen one’ is sacrificed changing the season from winter to spring.

common ground[s] is a new work created, performed and inspired by the lives of two remarkable women: Germaine Acogny, “the mother of contemporary African dance” and founder of École des Sables and Malou Airaudo who has performed leading roles in many of Bausch’s early works. This poetic and tender piece, the duo’s first collaboration, examines their shared histories and emotional experiences.

production Pina Bausch Foundation, École des Sables, Sadler’s Wells
coproduction Théâtre de la Ville, Paris; Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg; Holland Festival, Amsterdam; Festspielhaus, St Pölten; Ludwigsburg Festival; Teatros del Canal de la Comunidad de Madrid, Adelaide Festival, Spoleto Festival dei Due Mondi.
The project is funded by German Federal Cultural Foundation, il Ministry of Culture and Science of the German State of North Rhine-Westphalia, e l’International Coproduction Fund of the Goethe-Institut, and kindly supported by Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch.

duration 95 minutes (including break)

For Pina Bausch Foundation
Executive Director: Salomon Bausch
Managing Director: Simone Rust
Project Manager: Gertraud Johne
Communications: Denise Fertig
Education and Outreach: Kathrin Peters
Assistant to the Directors: Nicole Pieper
For École des Sables
Founders: Germaine Acogny and Helmut Vogt
Manager: Helmut Vogt
Technical Production Manager: Didier Delgado
Production: Stan Mandef, Mame Bousso MBaye
Coordinator: Paul Sagne
Casting/adviser: Patrick Acogny
Accounting: Phillipe Bocandé
Communications: Eleine de Graça-Sccientia
For Sadler’s Wells London
Artistic Director & Chief Executive: Alistair Spalding CBE
Executive Producer: Suzanne Walker
Head of Producing & Touring: Bia Oliveira
Senior Producer: Ghislaine Granger
Assistant Producer: Hannah Gibbs
Tour Producer: Aristea Charalampidou
Marketing Manager: Jordan Archer
Press Officer: Laura Neil
Marketing Assistant: Chantal Edwards
Production Management (in Senegal): Gacirah Diagne, Association Kaay Fecc (Papa Abdoulaye Faye, Mamadou Coumba Diouf, Francis S. Gomis, Jean Louis Junior Gomis, Ouleymatou Niang)
Technical Production Management (in Senegal): Abdou Diouf (for Les Ateliers Abdou Diouf)
Audition Partners (in the Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso and Senegal): Ange Aoussou (for Compagnie Ange Aoussou), Salamatou Diene (for CDC – La Termitière) and Gacirah Diagne (for Association Kaay Fecc)
Filming: Fontäne Film: Florian Heinzen-Ziob (Director & Editor), Enno Endlicher (Cinematographer), Armin Badde (Sound Engineer) et Igor Novic (Additional Camera Operator)
Photography: Maarten Vanden Abeele
With thanks to
Petra Boettcher, Keyssi Bousso, Stefan Brinkmann, Ismaël Dia, S. E. M. Abdoulaye Diop, Theowen Gilmour, Dr. Massamba Guèye, Dirk Hesse, Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln (Wuppertal), Lani Huens, Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker, Daniel King, Nassy Konan, Abdoulaye Koundoul, Folkwang Universität der Künste, Claudia Lüttringhaus, Pascal Moulard, Abdoul Mujyambere, Balla Ndiaye, Birane Niang, Gráinne Pollak, Madeline Ritter, Chelsea Robinson, Sahite Sarr Samb, Mohamed Y. Shika, Gabriel Smeets, Felicitas Willems, Laura-Inès Wilson, Wuppertaler Bühnen

Theater Programme