Budapest Festival Orchestra,
Coro dell'Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia,
Iván Fischer

The Passion of Ramakrishna

Opening concert

Piazza Duomo

Friday 24 June Ore 19:30

settore gold € 100,00
I settore piazza € 90,00
II settore piazza € 80,00
I settore scalinata € 60,00
II settore scalinata € 40,00
posti in piedi € 20,00


Budapest Festival Orchestra


Iván Fischer

Coro dell'Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia


Piero Monti

Orchestral Suite No. 4 in D major BWV 1069

Johann Sebastian Bach

The Passion of Ramakrishna

Philip Glass

Characters and performers


Chorus, Sri Ramakrishna, “The Master”


Peter Harvey, “M.”, The Narrator (Mahendranath Gupta)


Maria Stella Maurizi, Sarada Devi, Wife of Sri Ramakrishna


Chorus Soloists

Andrea D’Amelio, Dr. Mahendra Lal Sarkar

Federica Paganini, First Devotee

David Sotgiu, Second Devotee

The Budapest Festival Orchestra and its principal conductor Iván Fischer return to Spoleto for the second instalment of their five-year residency.


This year they open the festival in Piazza Duomo with the explosive power of Philip Glass’s oratorio The Passion of Ramakrishna. The entire Orchestra and Choir of the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia are engaged in a work that explores the life and teachings of the Indian guru Ramakrishna, who died in 1886. It starts with extracts from his lessons and moves onto the final days before his death. The cosmic breadth of the guru’s teachings, the intimate pain of a lone man, his deep spirituality and his daily suffering: Glass creates a ritual that interweaves the human and superhuman, and the entire choir represents the voice of Ramakrishna.


The concert opens with Overture No. 4 in D major by the spiritual father Bach, a composition that rivals the most famous Brandenburg Concertos in terms of energy and timbral invention.

duration 65 minutes without interval

Theater Programme